Hello, and welcome to The Lobo Lair ! Is this your first visit?
Register
CPK
Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Thanked 202,639 Times in 26,272 Posts
    My Mood
    Busy
    Groan
    Groaned 763 Times in 433 Posts

Unfortunately this doesn't end well...

First Post Banner
    There's no question I'm a fan of Coach Neal. I like him. I like his methods and madness but unfortunately it hasn't worked this year. At schools like New Mexico the deck is already stacked against you. I think you have a 10% chance of an at large big before the season starts. If you miss a few games early in the season it's an uphill battle the rest of the season. Win the league and everything is forgotten. New Mexico is a great job and you can win at it. Coach Neal inherited a great team his first year and took them to the NCAA. Ask anyone around the program and it was known that the year following was going to be a down year. Even with Coach Alford.

Currently the program is at a crossroad. The sharks have circled. The pitchforks are out. People have their minds made up. The amount of emails, PM's, DM's, texts, phone calls, atnd just social media outpouring has been crazy.

Im sure there has been cases out there but once it's this far gone a coach can't ever get it back. Coach is a good man, he is. He cares for his kids. His style is different, he graduates his kids. He has great kids on the team. Nobody is in trouble. Nobody is chasing people around the gym with 2x4's. Nobody has to tell him what's happening. He sees it. He knows the expectations.

I haven't seen it this bad in about 10 or 11 years. I don't see how this gets better. UNM will have talent next year but it's some kids who will need some time. At this point I don't see how this ends well for UNM or for coach.
    #UNMerciful

2. The Following User has GroanedMark For This Un-Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 11,674 Times in 3,923 Posts
    Groan
    Groaned 773 Times in 402 Posts

Response to "this doesn't end well"